Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum Announces Class of 2004

Pickerington, OH – The Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum today announced 11 new members for induction into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame, with ceremonies scheduled for Saturday, October 9, 2004. The Class of 2004 includes some of today’s best-known racing champions and industry leaders, as well as legendary figures that played a major role in creating and building America’s rich motorcycling heritage. Induction into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame—the largest in the country—ensures that each inductee’s achievements, as well as the colorful stories surrounding them, are preserved for the enjoyment and education of future generations of riders, enthusiasts and all who appreciate American history.The Motorcycle Hall of Fame Class of 2004 includes:

Joe Bolger – Five-time New England Scrambles Champion, mid 1960s and 1970s. Designer and manufacturer of motorcycle tools. Long-time contributing editor for Cycle World, Cycle Sport; engineer and designer, including work on Yankee motorcycles.

Willard “Red” Bryan – Eight-time National Hillclimb Champion, 1938 through 1951. Built his own engines, made heads, cast cylinders, designed and built frames.

Roy Burke – 1947 Class A National Hillclimb Champion, 1952 Open Class C Hillclimb Champion, 1955 Big Bear Grand Prix winner. Motorcycle dealer.

Wes Cooley – 1979 and 1980 AMA Superbike Champion. Eight AMA Superbike race wins. Member of two winning Suzuka Eight-Hour endurance race teams.

Linda Dugeau – Pioneer and Founder of the Motor Maids of America, the oldest motorcycling organization for women in North America. Motorcycle rider and enthusiast throughout her life.

E. Paul duPont – Major investor and former President of the Indian Motocycle Company in the post-Depression years from 1929 through 1945. Saved the company from financial ruin.

Jeff Emig – Three AMA Motocross Championships, one AMA Supercross Championship. 1999 US Open of Supercross winner, 37 National victories, member of six Motocross des Nations teams 1992 through 1997.

Johnny Gibson – Winner of 1956 Daytona 200 and over 100 dirt-track, road-race and TT races. Helped organize speedway-racing revival in U.S.

Steve McLaughlin – Successful road racer in the 1960s and 1970s. Winner of the first AMA Superbike race at Daytona, member of the Transatlantic Match Races team, originated the World Superbike Championship in Europe.

Steve Morehead – Career spanning three decades; dirt-track racer from 1972 to 1999. Upon retirement he was ranked tenth on the all-time AMA Grand National win list, and fourth-ranked in half-mile victories. Currently operations manager for AMA Flat Track.

Dal Smilie – Passionate advocate for motorcyclist rights throughout his 35-year industry career. Longest-serving AMA Director, first American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation chairman. Recipient of Motorcycle Safety Foundation Award of Excellence for national safety leadership.

About The Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum
Each year, the Motorcycle Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to motorcycling, including those known for their contributions to road riding, off-road riding and all categories of racing, as well as those who have excelled in business, history, design and engineering.

The Class of 2004 will be inducted on Saturday, October 9, during ceremonies at the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum, located on the campus of the American Motorcyclist Association in Pickerington, Ohio. Supported by families, industry peers, friends, past Motorcycle Hall of Fame inductees and media, the induction is an emotional celebration that brings together some of the most recognizable names in the world of motorcycling. The Hall of Fame Weekend will also feature the Museum’s 3rd annual Concours d’Elegance, which drew over 100 juried entries in 2003—including many of the machines that Motorcycle Hall of Fame members became forever linked with.

The 2004 inductees will join the legendary men and women already immortalized in the Motorcycle Hall of Fame. Each Motorcycle Hall of Fame inductee is recognized with a plaque, and related motorcycles, photos and memorabilia which become part of the Museum’s exhibitions.

“It is our mission to create a lasting national archive of American motorcycling heritage for future generations,” said Mark Mendell, chairman of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum. “With each new Class of Hall of Fame inductees, that treasure trove of legendary tales, heroics and achievements grows in value and scope. We look forward to celebrating the Class of 2004 on October 9 and invite the entire industry as well as every enthusiast to join us at the Motorcycle Hall of Fame for the festivities.”

Any motorcycling enthusiast may submit a person to be considered for induction into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame; complete biographical information should accompany the submission. Inductees are chosen by seven committees consisting of Hall-of-Famers and independent experts in various disciplines. For a nomination form and instruction, visit

About the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum The goal of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum is to tell the stories and preserve the history of motorcycling. Located on the campus of the American Motorcyclist Association in Pickerington, Ohio, the Motorcycle Hall of Fame honors those who have contributed notably to the sport, and three major exhibition halls showcase the machines and memorabilia that have shaped motorcycling. The Museum is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily; and is closed on New Year’s, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *